College of Letters & Science Faculty Executive Committee – Bylaws

These bylaws of the College of Letters & Science Faculty Executive Committee are excerpted from the Bylaws and Regulations--Santa Barbara Division of the Academic Senate.

Membership

The Committee consists of the Executive Dean of the College, *ex-officio*, the Dean of Undergraduate Education of the College, *ex-officio*, and six [faculty] members elected for three[-year] terms, two each from the three divisions of the College: Humanities and Fine Arts; Mathematical, Life and Physical Sciences; and Social Sciences. No two members should be from the same Department. Any member previously elected for a term of less than three years may serve for a term of up to three years. After the completion of their three-year terms, members will be ineligible for immediate re-election. [For membership selection,] Academic Senate members are allowed to vote only in the division(s) associated with their academic appointment(s). The Associated Students and the Graduate Student Association each shall have a representative on the FEC. Although these members do not formally vote, they participate fully in the discussions, providing valuable input into matters pending before the Committee.

Officers

The Committee selects from its elected members a chair and a secretary.

Replacements

If an elected member is unable to complete a term and the vacancy occurs after the annual general election, the Executive Committee shall request the Committee on Committees to appoint a replacement to fill the vacancy until the next general election takes place.

Duties

- 1. To represent the Faculty in all aspects of the academic administration of the College, including:
 - a. oversight of the welfare of students;
 - administration of the General Education program for the degrees of Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Music, and Bachelor of Fine Arts, subject to the authority of the Divisional Committee on General Education;
 - c. collaboration with the Faculties of the colleges and schools at Santa Barbara in the development of General Education programs for other Bachelor's degrees;
 - d. administration of requirements or their equivalents for major programs offered in the College;
 - e. approval of proposals for the establishment of new majors or group majors in consultation with the Divisional Committee on Educational Policy and Academic Planning;
 - f. periodic review of existing major and instructional programs in consultation with the Divisional Committee on Educational Policy and Academic Planning;
 - g. review of all undergraduate course requests submitted by the College;

- h. review of and recommendation to the Executive Dean of the College regarding proposals submitted by him/her for the establishment of new departments or for modifications of existing departments;
- i. action for the Faculty on matters of business included in the Call for a Faculty meeting which was adjourned for lack of a quorum. Such actions shall be subject to the Divisional rules on referendum.
- 2. To authorize the Dean of Undergraduate Studies of the College, at the committee's discretion, to administer the Divisional and Senate regulations concerning students, including the suspension of the regulations in individual instances, and to supervise and take appropriate action in individual cases of students subject to probation or dismissal.
- 3. To establish and maintain liaison with the Executive Committees of the other colleges and schools in the Division.
- 4. To appoint all committees of the Faculty for which no other provision is made.

Divisional Legislative Ruling D 1.93.A, Appendix II

The following has been excerpted from a ruling by the Divisional Committee on Rules and Jurisdiction:

Each Executive Committee of the Faculty of a College, often abbreviated as "Executive Committee of the College," is a committee of the Academic Senate. These Committees are authorized by the Bylaws of each Division of the Academic Senate as organizations through which the Faculty of each College can coordinate the academic affairs of their College. These Committees report to, and are responsible to, the Academic Senate and its officers. They should be distinguished from Administrative committees that are created by the Administration and are responsible to, and report to, Administrative Officers.

Bylaws of the Faculties, including the size and structure of Executive Committees, are determined by a vote of each Faculty after review by the Committee on Rules and Jurisdiction and approval by the Senate. Bylaws of the Senate are specific that Executive Committees of the Faculties of Colleges shall be selected by the Faculty of that college and shall include the Dean of that College as an *ex officio* member of the Committee. "Selection by the Faculty" has been interpreted Universitywide as election by the Faculty. Faculty may nominate themselves or be nominated. Election is by faculty who are members of the Senate.

Decisions of the Executive Committees, although normally by consensus, are formally decided by a majority vote of the Committee. The Dean is not a voting member. Executive Committees may invite others to participate in their deliberations, but such other persons are not members of the Committee and do not vote. Executive Committees report to the Chair of their Senate Division, and their decisions are subject to review and approval by the Senate Legislature.